Spring Cleaning Kitchen Cabinets

May 9, 2014 § 1 Comment

kitchen  cabinet

I do have to admit, it’s been quite awhile since I’ve *ahem* cleaned my oak kitchen cabinets. General wiping is all that gets done on a regular basis, which doesn’t work on these beasts! Eww! 15 years of grime. I’m rather embarrassed. In my defense,  my husband works in a steel mill. You don’t want to look at those hands. The  picture below shows why my kitchen looks like it does on regular basis. That is a lot of fingers to clean up after. (10 more in the dining room…we can’t all fit when we’re together! And don’t worry, they were all over the legal drinking age.)

The Herd

 

I had major plans of refinishing  a couple years ago, but for some reason, I never won the lottery.

Anyways. I was browsing my favorite blog over at  One Good Thing By Jillee, and behold! Grime cleaner.

1 part vegetable oil

2 parts baking soda

No harsh chemicals, cheap, and I had the time.

Mix it together, rub it on, wipe it off with a damp sponge, and it’s like new.

oil and baking sodarub it on

Look at all that icky grime!

cabinets 006

Did it work? Indeed!

Clean cabinet

I seriously had to put some elbow grease into this spot. It seemed to take forever, but there’s alot of build up going on here. Yours are not going to look as bad, right?

Annnnd, as you can see, it’s not going to stay clean for long, because there is no finish left on the cabinet. People and their dirty fingers!

No finish left on cabinet

I had great intentions of doing the rest of the kitchen cabinets, but this one wore me out. One a day perhaps.

Not that they look too bad. *choke*

cabinets 013cabinets 016

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

§ One Response to Spring Cleaning Kitchen Cabinets

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Spring Cleaning Kitchen Cabinets at Yes, I'd Like Cheese With My Whine!.

meta

