Making Vegan Lip Balm

June 12, 2012 § 1 Comment

I was recently chosen by Nature’s Garden Wholesale Candle and Soap Supply to test out a lip balm kit. What fun! In return I was asked to blog about my experience.

It was amazingly easy, and fun. I think as long as there was adult supervision, this is something you could do with your kids too.

So let the blogging begin!

This is everything that was included, and it even came in this cuuuuute little bag:

kit ingredients

So we have

*Candelilla Wax

*Coconut Oil

*Castor Oil

*Cocoa Butter

*Vitamin E Oil

*Flavoring (I got Black Cherry)

*Lip Tint Color

*Stevia Sweetener

*24 Balm Tubes

*Plastic Transfer Pipettes

I’m just going to assume here, that since everything was sent in a kit, that they shall be selling a lip balm kit in the future for your convenience. I didn’t see a kit on their site…yet.

So, in that spirit, lets assume you are working from said kit.  You need to measure all your ingredients before you begin. I measured everything out, and had extra’s left. You don’t want to screw up your recipe!

And that would be:

27 grams Candelilla Wax

37 grams Coconut Oil 76

35 grams Castor Oil

1 gram Vitamin E Oil

20 drops Flavoring Oil

Stevia Sweetener

Lip Tint Color

weighing out ingredients

Next Step:

You need to melt  the candelilla wax and cocoa butter in a double boiler. This only takes about 30 seconds, so have your other ingredients close by.

melting the candelilla wax and cocoa butter

melted candelilla wax and cocoa butter

Now add your coconut oil, castor oil, and the vitamin E. Stir until melted.

adding the coconut oil, castor and vitamin E

all oils melted together

Make sure you keep your heat low enough you don’t burn the oils. Time to take your oils off the heat, and add your flavoring, lip color, and sweetener. (These are optional, but I love love things look and smell yummy.)

The instructions said to add 20 drops of flavoring oil. I deviated and added the whole container. I wanted a real pop when I put it on my lips. (it was a small container!)

Adding the flavor, color, and sweetener

Now it’s time to fill your lip balm tubes.

Here’s where I deviated from the recipe again. My oils kept firming up, so it was impossible to not keep it on the heat to fill my tubes. (welcome to summer in Oregon..a whopping 50 degrees and I have the door wide open…it was a tad cold in my kitchen.)

The other problem I had was that the sweetener did not fully melt into my oils. When I got to the bottom of the heated oils, there was some grainy stevia floating around down there. This could quite possibly make some grainy lip balm. I didn’t use all 24 of the finished product to find out..lol

I’m wondering if perhaps a corn syrup, or a liquid Stevia could be used instead?

I did manage to get the tubes filled. Some turned out great!

balm in tubes

These bad boys, I tried over filling. Don’t over fill..

Ugly Balms

They were fine after they cooled, and I scraped off the overage with a table knife. (Which I kept in a little container..and am using.)

I should note here, that cleaning everything up after I was finished with my project was a tad difficult. It’s an oil product, hence you need to use alot of soap and elbow grease. It was worth it though!

And now I have finished lip balms, and needed labels.

I found a template over here at Tangled Panda Which was free to download.

Open it in your word program, edit to your liking, print, and use packing tape to adhere it to your balm tubes.

I love how they turned out! They feel great on your lips, with alot of staying power. The flavor was wonderful too. Thank you Nature’s Garden!!!

And now that you have the recipe, shouldn’t you head on over to their site and check it out for yourself? They have amazing products. Really, they do! In fact, I just finished making Sweet Iced Tea soap yesterday with their “Boston Tea Party” fragrance.  Not to mention the other 25 or 30 fragrances I have from them..I could go on for days 🙂

Finished Lip Balm

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

§ One Response to Making Vegan Lip Balm

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Making Vegan Lip Balm at Yes, I'd Like Cheese With My Whine!.

meta

