Chocolate Covered Rats

November 25, 2010 § 2 Comments

I wanted to make edible  rats for halloween, but the interwebs only showed me how to make them by dipping strawberries in chocolate. While i loved this idea, fresh  strawberries are not tasty in October. Or in my price range.
Then I came up with this.  I have a “cookie dough” truffle recipe, that is safe to eat “raw” because there are no eggs in it. I added a few things to that recipe, and came up with this:

Beautiful Beautiful Rats

Chocolate Covered Rats

Cookie Dough Bodies:

1/2 cup butter at room temperature
3/4 cup packed brown sugar
1 can (14 oz) sweetened condensed milk (not evaporated milk!)
1 tsp. vanilla extract
2-1/4 cups flour
1/4 cup powdered sugar
1/4 cup creamy peanut butter
In a mixing bowl, cream together the butter and brown sugar.
Add the flour, powdered sugar, vanilla, sweetened condensed milk, and peanut butter.  Mix well.
Refrigerate covered  for one hour to make easy to handle.

Other Ingredients:
Slivered almonds
licorice strings (I think this would be cuter for rats, but I couldn’t find any,  so I resorted to sour spaghetti gummies)

sunflower seeds
Chocolate candy coating

Form your cookie dough into rat shapes. Um, think egg shaped. You can look at the picture below to get an idea.
Add slivered almonds to make the ears.

Make them as big or small as you want. My rats are perhaps a little on the large side, since I used my cookie scoop.  (you know, those cute little things that look like mini ice cream scoopers?)

Chocolate Covered Rats

Chocolate Covered Rats

Melt your chocolate candy coating according to the package directions.
Now put your rat body on a fork, and  spoon the chocolate over their little bodies to cover.

Tap the fork against the chocolate pan to get most of the drippies off the bottom, then set on waxed paper.
Before the chocolate dries, attempt to poke some sunflower seeds on the rats face for eyes.

Some of mine look like they are drunk..I need more practice!
Why not make some teeth? I didn’t obviously, but maybe next year!  use  slivered almonds?
After the rats are dry, poke a hole in his rear end (oh my!) with a toothpick, and insert the licorice tail.
Since I couldn’t find licorice strings, this didn’t work for me. The chocolate cracked, and my tails were too fat.  I layed the rats on a platter and stuck a tail underneath them.
Rodents never tasted so good.
I didn’t put on noses, but you certainly could. A tiny chocolate chip perhaps?

Chocolate Covered Rats

How many rats do you get? That depends on how big you make them. I got alot! 30 perhaps? (forgot to count)

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Chocolate Covered Rats

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Chocolate Covered Rats at Yes, I'd Like Cheese With My Whine!.

meta

