Cavatelli with Sauteed Broccoli and Garlic

April 6, 2010 § Leave a comment

Cavatelli with Sauteed Broccoli and Garlic

I got this recipe about 10 years ago while I was watching “Sara’s Secret’s” on FoodTV. Her guest that day was an  Italian woman named Fannie DiGiovanni, who as far as I can remember is Martin Scorcese’s Aunt. I don’t know why I remember that!
Anyways, this is her recipe, and I try to make it whenever I have fresh broccoli.
Obviously as the title says, it’s made with Cavatelli pasta. (which means “little ears.” I don’t know why I remember that either!)
I can’t find that anywhere in my town, so I use bowtie pasta.
Let’s get started!

4 Tablespoons olive oil
3 cloves garlic, minced
2 to 3 cups broccoli florets
salt to taste
1/2 tsp. red pepper flakes (or to taste)
1-1/2 cups chicken broth (I use low sodium, but you don’t have to)
1/2 pound bowtie pasta, cooked according to package directions
freshly grated pecorino romano cheese or parmesan if you can’t find romano
sliced black olives (optional..i just think it makes it look pretty)

Cavatelli with Sauteed Broccoli and Garlic

In a large saucepan, heat the olive oil over medium heat until hot. Add the garlic and cook stirring constantly, until barely golden. If you overcook garlic, the whole dish will taste like..well burned garlic. Better to undercook in my own opinion. So go maybe 20 to 30 seconds here.

Cavatelli with Sauteed Broccoli and Garlic

Add the broccoli, salt and red pepper flakes. Cook, stirring, for about 2 minutes.

Cavatelli with Sauteed Broccoli and Garlic

Add the chicken broth; turn the heat down to a simmer, cover and cook for about 5 minutes.
Yes, it looks really soupy, not like a “sauce” at all. Don’t worry, you’re doing it right. (smells good, huh?)

Cavatelli with Sauteed Broccoli and Garlic

Transfer your cooked and drained pasta to the saucepan and toss with sauce to combine. The pasta will suck up all that moisture, and leave your tummy and your tongue very happy.
Cavatelli with Sauteed Broccoli and Garlic

Top with the grated pecorino or parmesan, the optional olives, and serve.
ShHhh… i used that stuff in a can that you shake out, cuz i was all out of the real stuff..don’t tell!

Cavatelli with Sauteed Broccoli and Garlic

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Cavatelli with Sauteed Broccoli and Garlic at Yes, I'd Like Cheese With My Whine!.

meta

