Subgum

September 18, 2009 § Leave a comment

I love chinese food, but anymore, my tastes have changed, and I got to the point where I thought..Hmm, I can make this better and probably cheaper than   at any restaurant. This was my mission. After considerable time perusing the internet, downloading recipes and cooking them up, I can now say that this recipe is my favorite. So far!
I would love to give credit to whoever I copied this from, but it’s been so long, I can’t remember where I got it.

subgum8

Our ingredients:

1 medium onion, chopped into bite size pieces
1 green pepper, chopped into bite size pieces (I used red sweet peppers today)
4 stalks celery chopped into bite size pieces
2 1/2 cups sliced mushrooms
1- 8 oz.can water chestnuts, drained
1- 8 oz. can bamboo shoots, drained (yep, another substitution for me..canned stir fry veggies)
1 T. sesame oil
1 cup chicken broth
1 T. flour
1/4 cup soy sauce, or to taste
2 or 3 green onions, sliced (optional)

subgum1

Saute onion in oil for 2 minutes

subgum6

Add celery and green pepper and cook 2 min. more

subgum7

Add mushrooms,water chestnuts,bamboo shoots and chicken broth;  heat through. (you want the vegies to be tender crisp, not mooshie)
Stir flour into the 1/4 C. soy sauce until  disolved. Add the  soy sauce mixture to the vegetables,  and heat for 1 minute. Top with green onions.
Serve over rice or those crunchy little noodle thingies.

Add precooked chicken for chicken subgum!

subgum8

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Subgum at Yes, I'd Like Cheese With My Whine!.

meta

