Superwoman Does Drywall Repairs. And You Can Too!

January 7, 2014 § 2 Comments

Do you have a husband/mate who is good at starting projects, then never finishes them? Please tell me I’m not the only one. It’s so frustrating! Granted, my hubby is never home to do those repairs, because he’s always fixing someone else’s house. I find that frustrating too. My house is falling down around my ears. THIS hole in the bedroom has been here for 7 months. (We had a major leak in the bathroom.) I only got him to screw up the drywall a couple weeks later, because I was terrified. The cat kept sitting there looking in the hole like there was something in there. What if a giant squid, or rabid wolverine was in there waiting to eat me when I went to sleep?!

Hole in Wall

Anyways, I finally got tired of waiting for him to finish this project, so decided I would just do it myself. And I had no idea where to start. Thank God for Youtube. And Mr. Video Joe Knows. He has several videos that explain what to do from start to finish. So I lugged my laptop into the bedroom, and we did it together.  If a 50 year old “Martha Stewart” type can do it, I have no doubt that you can do it too.  So here’s all those videos from Joe. Gather your supplies, and make your wall pretty again!

How to install the webbing tape. I didn’t even know what it was, and I forgot to take a picture of that part, but it was super easy. I felt my confidence soaring already!

 

 

Putting on the first layer of quick set. I was a nervous wreck. I second guessed myself constantly, but Joe assured me I could do it.

I have a picture of this step, but it’s on my phone. And I’m too lazy to upload it. I did sand this layer a bit after it dried, because it wasn’t as smooth as I wanted it.

Adding the second layer of quick set:

Aha! I do have a picture of this one. I think I’m doing okay so far.

2nd coat of quickset

 

Adding the last coat of quick set: (Hm. forgot to take a pic of this step too. Genius.)

And now, for the skim coat, using joint compound. (whew, alot of steps, huh? We’re almost there.)

skim coat

 

I sanded here again, just to make sure things were looking smooth. And I found a tip on another video, on how to make sure  you see all those imperfections. Use a flashlight! Turn off your lights, and shine it on your work area. You will be able to see anyplace you need to sand.

Add a final coat of joint compound, let it dry, and you’re now ready to prime your wall patch.

Prime. Don’t skip this part. If you do, apparently the patch will stand out like a sore thumb when you put your regular ol paint on. I didn’t take any chances. I primed. It’s starting to look pretty good.

priming the wall

Then you spray on some texture out of a can. Wow, that stuff is expensive! And the first can was defective. How rude. I have a picture of this, but all you can see is white, so there was no point in trying to impress you with my texturing skills.

Then you prime again. Wait for that to dry, and guess what! It’s time to paint it to match the rest of the room. You’re done!

TADA! I’m pretty darned proud of myself. It’s not perfect, but it’s a great first try. Thank you Video Joe, I couldn’t of done it without you!

finished drywalldrywall 009

 

 

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Superwoman Does Drywall Repairs. And You Can Too!

  • Anonymous says:

    Wow I am soo impressed with your work & the fact you did it yourself! I also appreciate you attaching the videos I made…..how nice of you! You know the next patch will be the much easier for you & you always know there WILL be another patch. No sense in paying someone else when you can do it yourself! A flashlight from another video huh….. I guess you missed the video I did where I show you that step with a construction light. You rock! Joe :0

    • cleocatraofthenile says:

      Thank you for the compliment..I’m feeling pretty impressed with myself too! I guess I did miss the video you posted about a construction light. Never fear, I’ve subscribed to your channel, because I have a million other DIY projects you’re going to be helping me out with..lol

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Superwoman Does Drywall Repairs. And You Can Too! at Yes, I'd Like Cheese With My Whine!.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

